Contact Us

MHA News & Updates

Industry News

Popular Links






Contact Us

P.O. Box 365

Sauk Rapids, MN 56379

Phone: 320-259-0637

Fax: 952-856-5108



Would you like your ad featured here?

Contact the MHA office today and they can place your already created ad online for only $30!


2014 MHA Spring Special Sale


The 2014 Minnesota Spring Special sale was held on April 12, 2014 at the Olmsted County Fairgrounds in Rochester, Minn. The morning started out with a strong spring storm but that didn’t keep breeders away. The storm cleared just in time for the first animal to enter the ring. The bleachers were full and the conversation light as breeders from across the Midwest attended the sale.

The sale averaged $2,773.60 on 123 live lots and two choices. The online/onsite embryo auction averaged $258 per embryo on five embryo lots that sold.

Topping the sale at $6,000 was Lot 8 and Lot 51. Lot 8, Larcrest Cion, was a fancy +2329 GTPI Predestine heifer. She was purchased by T-Spruce Holsteins of Richmond, Minn. and was consigned by Jon Larson of Albert Lea, Minn. Lot 51 consigned by Melarry Farms of Rice, Minn. was Melarry Dandi Dally-Red, a fancy red December calf. Dally was purchased by Mitch Kruger of New Richmond, Minn. The next high seller was consigned by Genevieve Fischer of Sleepy Eye, Lot 43. Lot 43 was Heritage-E Debbies Dance-ET, a fancy Shamrock bred heifer that goes back to Adeen. She sold for $5,000 to Elwin Brands of Edgerton, Minn.

Thank you to all who participated and attended the MHA Spring Special Sale. Thank you to all buyers, bidders, consignors, selectors and sale staff!

2014 Spring Sale Buyers List

High Seller - Lot 8


L to R: Arnie Gruenes, Jr., Arnie Gruenes, buyer, Andrew Steinhagen, sale chair, Jeremy Schafer, auctioneer, Ashley Gruenes, Scott Culbertson, selector and Andy Gruenes

2014 All-Breeds Convention Highlights

The Wright-Hennepin-Carver Holstein club hosted the 2014 annual Minnesota All-Breeds Dairy Convention at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, Shakopee, Minn., March 6-8, 2014. Over 200 dairy cattle breeders were in attendance throughout the convention.

On Thursday afternoon before the official kick off of convention the Minnesota Holstein Association (MHA) held their board of directors meeting to discuss upcoming events and tackle current issues in the association.

Friday morning kicked off convention with the annual Minnesota Purebred Dairy Cattle Association meeting. They had a great turn out of people filled with great ideas on how to help improve the youth, state fair, legislative and All-Breeds Convention committees. Following the meeting was the annual PDCA awards luncheon where they recognized the 2014 Distinguished Breeders. The 2014 Distinguished Breeder Awards were presented to John and Linda Irrthum, Irrthum Ayrshires, Keith and Kay Mahoney, Mahoney Holsteins, Richard and Margaret Reiman, Brickton Jersey and Todd and Jean Pollema, TJ-Pollema Holsteins.

After the luncheon, speaker Dr. Gerald Cramer, DVM, DVSc, discussed four success factors of a successful foot health program. By the end of the discussion everybody walked away being challenged to look at foot health in their dairy a different way.

Following the speaker various breed associations meet to discuss their past and upcoming year’s activities. The Minnesota Holstein Association held various committee meetings. Convention attendees also had the option of listening to fireside chats with Holstein USA President Glen Brown and Dean of UMN Extension Beverly Durgan.

New this year to convention was the Young Adult Committee’s embryo auction. Proceeds from the embryo auction will help support the Young Adult committee to put on educational events and provide scholarships for individuals to attend future conventions. Thank you to all who supported the auction.

Dick Jonckowski, voice of the Gophers, was the Master of Ceremony for the banquet. This years Distinguished Junior Member was Nathan Donnay, Glencoe, Minn. The Young Distinguished Junior Member Award was presented to Haely Leiding, Fountain, Minn. Receiving the prestigious Longtime Meritorious Service Award was Glen Kurth. Being recognized for all he has done with the juniors and sales Andy Steinhagen was presented the President’s Award. Other breed organizations were also given the opportunity to present awards to members of their organization. The PDCA presented too additional surprise awards. They included an additional Distinguished Breeder Award to Russ and Heather Thyen of Empty Pockets and the newly added award of Distinguished Service to Florence Volkert.

Saturday morning started with the Minnesota Holstein Associations annual meeting and a couple other breed meetings. At the Minnesota Holstein Association meeting committee reports were given by committee chairs. Nominations were taken and election of MHA directors was held. Newly elected to the board were Patti Schaefer and Matt Timmer. The meeting concluded with discussion and passing of resolutions and any other new business.

The MHA Board of Directors met at the conclusion of the annual meeting to elect officers for the upcoming year. The executive board includes President, Russ Thyen, Vice President, John VanderWal and directors Michael Sheehan, Andrew Steinhagen, Megan Herberg and Kenn Mueller.

During the luncheon newly elected MHA President Russ Thyen presented a watch to retiring President Lane Johnson. Retiring President Lane Johnson presented a watch to retiring director Devoine Kruse. Both Lane and Devoine served nine years on the Minnesota Holstein Association Board of Directors. To conclude convention a few breeds held their annual meetings.

Photos of Award Winners